So, what antivirus software do I use?

avast! antivirus home edition
Why? Because it's free, and I'm cheap. I like free. If I wasn't a gamer, I'd probably be using Linux (but that's for another post). It has some annoying traits. I've had to deal with some false positives. The popup notification can be annoying. It kept wanting to eat part of my wife's Sims install. I had to completely remove it from my gbpvr machine because my remote would stop working and the aforementioned popups were annoying when trying to watch TV. But it keeps the viruses away (so far as I know). And it's free.
AVG is another good one that's also free. I've used both. I think I switched to avast because it would search for updates whenever it found a connection instead of being a scheduled task. With AVG, your computer had to be on at that particular time to get updates. I haven't looked at it in a long time. Someday I'll check again, and see if that's been changed. If so, I'll probably switch back. Or I could try both. Usually, multiple antivirus programs on a computer don't play well together. However, I've received a report that AVG and avast will peacefully coexist on the same Windows machine. If I try it out, I'll report back here.
My Symantec Antivirus tirade:
I've used Symantec/Norton (in fact, that's what I use at work). I haven't used the home version in quite awhile (although to be fair, I liked it when I had it... several years ago). I know corporate edition seems to get worse with each version. I started with 7.6, and it took some doing, but eventually I got it setup just right and it ran without a hiccup. Now, I'm on 10.1, and I haven't been able to get the last couple of versions working all the way correctly, even after reading the directions (yeah, I do that) and trolling their forum/kb mess. They've had the same registry key get set incorrectly for the last 3(?) versions, even though it was in the errata 3 editions ago (you would have thought maybe they might have managed to straighten that out). You couldn't even install 10.0 in ms virtual server. 10.1 you could, but none of the extras. I don't know how their consumer edition fares, but I'm seriously considering switching at the corporate level.
Summary:
Get some antivirus software. Even if you're not connected to the Internet, you probably swap disks with your machine at work. The only time I could see you not needing it is if you never install anything, aren't connected to any other computers, and never use removable media.
No comments:
Post a Comment